SEPlib Installation, OpenSource Seismic Data Processing Software from Stanford

This post is just to help a number of you guys that are thinking of installing the SEPlib software of Seismic Exploration Project (SEP) a world renowned research group based in Stanford University, CA. My journey to this software started when i had the “painful” privilege to process a 3D seismic data for the first time. I am used to Seismic Unix but I am not sure SU could handle 3D data processing (I stand to be corrected, if I am wrong!). Enough of the introduction.

As you may know, softwares installation in Linux more often than not, requires dependency resolution, and all those stuffs. The fortran compiler required by SEPlib compilation is not the popular gcc package, as many other people have reported its failure when they tried to compile SEPlib with it. So when I wanted to install SEPlib on my Fedora 17 machine, I didn’t take the chance!. I had to fiddle with how to get the right one installed especially the “Non-Commercial” version from Intel which is not opensource sensus stricto. I found a guide to installing SEPlib from a blog on the internet, if you are using Centos click here. However, I think the only issue is getting to the Fortran compiler you need easily. Their posts are not very “direct” on this. So to get to the “Non-Commercial” Fortran compiler, click here. The rest of the page is self explanatory. Do have a good luck with SEPlib installation. If i am successful with the installation, i will post on the exact procedure i follow on Fedora 17.

Follow up Jan 2019: I got some recent hits on this post. So I felt a need to update it slightly.

I was not able to successfully install SEPLib myself because my research focus changed then and I had to shift to another software. I later found out about another seismic processing and data analysis software, Madagascar. Madagascar is a very powerful software and enjoys a wider usage than SEPLib, in my opinion. It also has user mailing list where you can post any question you have about the software. I believe it can handle most of the things you may need to do with SEPLib. If you would like to explore Madagascar, you can check it out.

Always trying to be a better Muslim

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Seismic Data Processing, Seismic Un*x
4 comments on “SEPlib Installation, OpenSource Seismic Data Processing Software from Stanford
  1. Ahmed Mohameed says:

    Hello.. what about those who is trying to install SEPlib on cygwin (windows users)? I tried to follow the instructions in the main SEBlib site but with problems.. so do you have any idea or anything that help?
    Thanks and this is very nice blog!

    • popsonrules says:

      Sorry Ahmed for the rather late reply. I updated the most slightly. I am not really a fan of Cygwin. I prefer to run a Linux distro on a virtual machine from a window host. Currently, I am running Ubuntu 18.04 LTS on VMWare player.
      Good luck!.

  2. Angel says:

    Hi, I think the links doesn’t work, Could you help me with the installation or do you have any other page??

    • popsonrules says:

      Hello Angel, I noticed the installation on Ubuntu and Intel fortran compilers links are no longer working. I supposed something has changed since I last posted it.
      I was not able to successfully install SEPlib myself then. Besides, my focus changed to something else and I was exploring Madagascar instead of SEPlib. Madagascar is another powerful software for seismic data processing and analysis and I suppose it should be able to serve the same purpose as SEPLib. You may check out Madagascar. I wish you all the best.

Leave a comment